About me

My musical path

After my music studies in Winterthur CH, which I completed with a teaching and concert diploma in piano, a long journey began for me that continues to this day. Some questions on this journey were: What is the essential message of music? How do I get deeper into the energy of music? What does music want in the world? Which forms of communication are contemporary and which ones shine into the future? What in a musical work is time-bound to the respective epoch, what is timeless, supertemporal? How do I reach the levels of spiritual, mental and emotional experience of composers who have not lived for a long time? What does their music say today, especially now? How can I work on my consciousness as a musical facilitator? Where do the spontaneous ideas in improvisation come from? Do they come from myself or from the field surrounding me? What is inspiration really?

In the middle of my musical life I met the mountain farmer Lorenz Kunz. Together we set out and created the project kulturland.  The life on the farm and on the alp inspired my music. Out of this developed a music that left many boundaries behind. Cowbell music has been an integral part of my musical life since those years. Often in combination with works from the 20th and 21st century.
On my journey I met extraordinary inspiring and supporting people. Often they were musicians, but always also teachers, who worked on a completely different topic and yet became important inspirations for me as a musician. I consider myself lucky to be blessed again and again with significant encounters.
I am happy to present my experiences and my offers in more detail on the following pages. Read what cowbells have to do with Debussy and Cage and be inspired by Old and New Music, Tonal Mind, Unintentional Music and Deep Democracy.

Bio Magdalena Schatzmann

Über mich

Mein musikalischer Weg

Nach meinem Musikstudium in Winterthur CH, welches ich mit dem Lehr- und Konzertdiplom in Klavier abschloss, begann für mich eine lange Reise, die bis heute andauert. Einige Fragen auf dieser Reise waren: Was ist die essentielle Botschaft der Musik? Wie komme ich tiefer in die Energie der Musik hinein? Was will die Musik in der Welt? Welche Vermittlungsformen sind zeitgemäss und welche leuchten in die Zukunft? Was ist in einem Musikwerk zeitgebunden an die jeweilige Epoche, was ist zeitlos, überzeitlich? Wie erreiche ich die Ebenen der geistigen, seelischen und emotionalen Erfahrungen von Komponisten und Komponistinnen, die schon lange nicht mehr leben? Was sagt ihre Musik heute, gerade jetzt? Wie kann ich an meiner Bewusstheit als Vermittlerin arbeiten? Woher kommen die spontanen Ideen in der Improvisation? Kommen sie aus mir selbst oder aus dem mich umgebenden Feld? Was ist Inspiration wirklich?

Mitten in meinem Musikerinnenleben begegnete ich dem Bergbauer Lorenz Kunz. Zusammen machten wir uns auf den Weg und kreierten  auf dem Bergbauernhof das Projekt kulturland.  Das Leben auf dem Bauernhof und auf der Alp inspirierte meine Musik. Daraus entwickelte sich eine Musik, die viele Grenzen hinter sich liess. Kuhglockenmusik ist seit diesen Jahren ein fester Bestandteil meines musikalischen Lebens. Oft in Kombination mit Werken aus dem 20. Und 21. Jahrhundert.
Auf meiner Reise begegnete ich ausserordentlich inspirierenden und unterstützenden Menschen. Oft waren es MusikerInnen, immer wieder auch LehrerInnen, die an einem ganz andern Thema arbeiteten und dennoch wichtige InspiratorInnen für mich als Musikerin wurden und ich schätze mich glücklich, immer wieder mit bedeutsamen Begegnungen beschenkt zu werden.
Ich freue mich, auf den folgenden Seiten meine Erfahrungen und meine Angebote näher vorzustellen. Lesen Sie, was Kuhglocken mit Debussy und Cage zu tun haben und lassen Sie sich inspirieren von Alter und Neuer Musik,Tonal Mind, Unintentional Music und Deep Democracy.

Bio Magdalena Schatzmann